BearManor Media


Regular price $18.95 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

As featured in The Washington Post, Radiogram, and The New York Post!

Winner of the Agatha Award for Non-Fiction

This book examines radio and mystery drama from about 1932 to the genre's final appearance in the late 1950's. While its focus is on women detectives, French provides minute and fascinating details about dozens of mystery programs and includes a comprehensive listing of source material ranging from magazine articles, to dime detective novels, to film noir. Each lady detective appearing under one of eight cleverly conceived categories gets handsome, multi-page treatment. The author traces the chronological appearance of the subject's show, examines the program's history and origins, and details with substantial documentation the manner of the show's presentation and production. He intersperses the text with actual dialogue taken directly from the program scripts.

Author Jack French (Private Eyelashes) is a former Navy cryptology officer and retired FBI agent, and has been researching the Golden Age of Radio for over 20 years. He is a recipient of the Allen Rockford Award, given annually by the Friends of Old-Time Radio to the person who has  contributed the most to radio research. Jack is a union member of SAG and AFTRA and has acted in several television shows and motion pictures. He and his wife, Cathy, now live in Northern VA. they have six children and six grandchildren.

Author Jack French is inducted into the Radio Once More Hall of Fame!

All award winners and Hall of Fame inductees were selected by Neal Ellis, founder and CEO of Radio Once More( and Ken Stockinger, co-host of Radio Once More's "The Live Show." The awards are as follows(in parenthesis after the award's name is what is presented to the winner/inductee):

Founder's Award(trophy)- Special Award given at the discretion of Radio Once More for those who have gone above and beyond in the promotion of the Old-Time Radio hobby and Radio Once More. This year's winner is OTR author, researcher, and historian Martin Grams, Jr.

RG Bright Award(Lucite plaque)- Presented to those who have enthusiastically given of their time and talents to Radio Once More. This year's winner is the award's namesake, OTR radio host and historian Roy Bright.

Jay Hickerson Award(Lucite plaque)- Presented to those who have made significant lifetime contributions to the Old-Time Radio/Nostalgia fields. This year's winner is the award's namesake, Mr. Friends of Old-Time Radio himself, OTR historian Jay Hickerson.

Radio Once More Hall of Fame(Certificate of Enshrinement):

The Radio Once More Hall of Fame was created to honor individuals for their Lifetime achievement and Excellence in the fields of Broadcasting and the Arts. This year's class (in alphabetical order):

Arthur Anderson- Extremely gifted OTR actor best known as a cast member of Lila Mack's "Let's Pretend" and  Orson Welles'"The Mercury Theatre on the Air"

Norman Corwin- Legendary OTR playwright("We Hold These Truths", "14 August")

Fred Foy- OTR Announcer extraordinaire("The Lone Ranger", "The Green Hornet")

Jack French- OTR Author, Researcher, Historian, Lecturer Par Excellance

Ed Walker- Washington Broadcast Legend("The Joy Boys", WAMU's "The Big Broadcast")

"In this eye-opening volume, old time radio historian Jack French presents an impassioned tribute to radio female crime fighters."
 - Mystery Scene magazine

Listen to an interview with the author!